Facebook + Pidgin

Well I was having some issues with Pidgin earlier (still don’t think that they are all gone).  So I reinstalled it (with sudo apt-get install pidgin), since the main site only had the source (for Ubuntu) and I didn’t feel like building from source at the moment.

Well after installing I had to find the pidgin-facebook chat plugin.  This is provided through Google Code (just follow the link).  From here choose the .deb file to download.  Now installation is rather easy, just right click on the file and select “Open with GDebi Package Installer” and if all goes well you now should be able to connect to facebook-chat through Pidgin (after a restart).  If you don’t see this option then you need to get GDebi Package Installer, I don’t know how I got it so I won’t be much help but Google is your friend in this case.

When I tried this method I got a message about missing something called libjson-glib-1.0-0 .  So I went looking for it, only to find that Ubuntu doesn’t provide it for me.  In the end, I had to get this package through Debian (which I hear isn’t all that different from Ubuntu, under the hood at least, follow the previous link to the download page).  After installing this everything else was a breeze.

This really took longer than it should have, but oh well.  I tried other Pidgin like programs in the short time in between reinstalling, but didn’t find one that I thought measured up.

Leave a Reply

