Lucid Lynx

From the title you should know what I am about to say.  However, for those of you that have been living under a rock (or don’t keep up with these kinds of things) Lucid Lynx is the newest (at the time of this post) member to the Ubuntu family.  The first noticeable chance is that the default theme for version 10.04 is drastically different.  Just look around Google Images to see what I mean.  Also the Min/Maximize & Close buttons have been moved to the left of the window and have also been reordered.  Now you have two options, either get used to it or find a way to move them back.  I would go with moving them back to where they should be (yes Apple you were wrong for putting them on the left).  It’s not too difficult, maybe I’ll write a post on this or I’ll just post a link, still haven’t made up my mind.

I haven’t used it too much since I am still running from the LiveCD (long story) but I’ll let you know my thoughts when I finally install it and do some (much needed) configuration.

Oh one more thing, I will be using a 32bit version and NOT A 64BIT VERSION! The reason for the switch is the lack of flash support for 64bit Linux (thanks Adobe) and also none of the applications/programs I used took full advantage of the fact that I was using a 64bit processor.  Don’t worry I will mention some 64bit stuff every now and then when appropriate, but not as much as I did in the past.

Leave a Reply

